About WCC

MARK YOU CALENDARS - The 2017 Western Cup Challenge tournament will take place in Sherwood Park, AB from July 13- July 16

For WCC 2017 team information, rosters, practices and details check back later as more information is posted including: 

  • To register complete the following form by June 20th:


  • PAYMENT: Mail cheque to CBHA-WCC, PO Box 22005, Kingston ON, K7M 7E0 (payable to CBHA) - deadline to receive funds is June 23rd

  • Please email your preliminary team roster by no later than June 19th - this is for inclusion in the 2017 WCC program guide:


    Please remember if your team is traveling to book you accommodations with one of our host hotels as soon as possible in order to avoid losing out on room availability.

  • Host City information, including host hotels, can be found under the 2017 WCC Info menu. 

Back in 1999 the minor ball hockey associations of BC and Alberta founded the Western Challenge Cup (WCC). As there was no National or Western Championships for minor ball hockey competitors, this tournament would serve as a venue to challenge skilled minor ball hockey players with a chance to compete against other teams throughout BC and Alberta at a higher competitive level. Since the start of the WCC, the tournament has been hosted by Edmonton, Calgary and cities throughout the Lower Mainland. This tournament has grown over the years with a participation expectancy of a minimum of 32 teams each year. The tournament occurs over a 4 day period usually during the middle of July.

After the 2011 WCC tournament in Edmonton there was a vote between all the associations and the result was the reclassification of the competing divisions.

As a result, the age groups eligible to play in the WCC will be as follows commencing with the 2012 season.  For the upcoming 2017 WCC, the age groups are as follows:

  • U11 Division - Players born in 2006 and 2007 ( full calendar year ).
  • May include players born in 2008 if desired.
  • U13 Division - Players born in 2004 and 2005 ( full calendar year ).
  • U15 Division - Players born in 2002 and 2003 ( full calendar year ).
  • U17 Division - Players born in 2000 and 2001 ( full calendar year ).
  • U19 Division - Players born in 1998 and 1999 ( full calendar year ).

Administration Login